Our End Is Our Beginning

Of all the things I have experienced in life, coming to the end of my own ability to “get the job done”, has been one of the most terrifying and liberating. I can’t fully explain why other than to say it sets me free from the pressure to know what must be done next. When I finally conclude that I can’t do any more than I have and I must let it go or drive myself crazy, it’s such a sweet release.

Imagine what life would be like if you could come to the place of calm acceptance when you finally face the reality of an unalterable situation. I have hit many of these in my lifetime and for the most part I refused to back off, back up of back down. Then, after weeks or months of frustration and mental contortions that failed to bring about any change, I finally gave in to the truth that this was out of my control. I needed to just let it go… so I did!

It may have been a person, a situation or a self-inflicted demand that simply was not reasonable, but I happened to miss that point. I usually bang my head against it, speak with reason and clarity to it, and even try to work with it as a show of good faith. In the end, I threaten to “never give up” and “if it kills me I will die falling forward against it”. And what is the usual result? I waste a lot of time, energy and raw emotions on something that never had any intention of changing and it sucked way a great deal of my life’s time and focus.

Perhaps you have let your life be ruled by “time tyrants”. These are people and things that demand your attention, siphon off your time and drain your energy, but refuse to be reasonable no matter what you do to appease them. My suggestion is quite simple. It’s your turn to take full control of things and just let go. It will amaze you how quickly you will gain composure, find peace of mind, reclaim clear vision and begin to move forward in what’s really important in life.

Remember, it’s not your job to make everything right. No mater what others think or what you demand of yourself you don’t have that kind of power. It’s your job to make your life, and the lives of those who love you, as right as you are able. As for the rest of the world…they need to get over it and get a life of their own. Why? Because it’s N.Y.P.(not your problem!)

Leave a Reply

